Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Every year we hear from citizens who are concerned about dangerous fireworks use in their neighborhoods. The Snohomish County Council adopted an ordinance in 2016 that allows citizens in unincorporated areas to petition the county for a neighborhood fireworks ban.

DOWNLOAD A PETITION form to collect signatures and return to South County Fire Headquarters, 12425 Meridian Ave. S., Everett WA 98208. South County Fire will deliver all petitions collected to the Snohomish County Council.

Here's the county's process for establishing a "no firework" area in your neighborhood:

Step 1: Establish a proposed "no-firework" area.

The proposed area must meet the following conditions:

  • Contain a minimum of 50 single-family homes  OR contain a minimum of one square mile.
  • Have identifiable boundaries. If reasonably possible, the boundaries should be a physical barrier such as a roadway, freeway or river.

Step 2: Collect petition signatures.

  • County code 30.53A.728 lays out the requirements and a template for the petition.
  • The petition must be signed by a minimum of 51 percent of the registered voters within the boundaries of the proposed "no firework" area. You can contact the Snohomish County Auditor’s Office to request a list of registered voters within a proposed area.

Step 3: Snohomish County Council sets a public hearing to consider the petition

  • Completed petitions must be filed with the clerk of the County Council.
  • Upon receipt of a "no firework" area application and petition, the County Council sets a public hearing to consider the petition and request for a "no firework" area.

If approved by the County Council, new fireworks restrictions must wait one year before they become effective under state law.

This petition method is available only in unincorporated communities. The cities of Brier, Edmonds, Lynnwood and Mountlake Terrace served by South County Fire already ban fireworks.

Fireworks use is legal in unincorporated areas on July 4 only, 9 a.m. until midnight.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer