On June 13, 2019, the South County Fire Board of Commissioners filed a No Firework Area Petition with the Snohomish County Council seeking a ban on the sale and use of consumer fireworks within our unincorporated service area.

Nov. 5 ballot measure to gauge interest in a county fireworks ban

All county voters will have the opportunity to be heard on this issue in the Nov. 5 general election. The Snohomish County Council authorized a non-binding, advisory vote to gauge public opinion on the issue before considering any action to ban fireworks. Consumer fireworks are already banned in all the cities we serve:  Brier, Edmonds, Lynnwood and Mountlake Terrace.

Fireworks put people, animals and property at risk in our area every July 4. This is predictable and it’s also preventable. Fireworks bans in the cities we serve have effectively reduced injuries, property loss and 911 calls. Eight counties and 92 cities in our state ban fireworks.

The Nov. 5 ballot measure asks voters if consumer fireworks use should be banned countywide. This will give our residents a chance to be heard on this issue. 



Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer