South County Fire was founded in 2017 as a regional fire authority combining Snohomish County Fire District 1 and the Lynnwood Fire Department.

The Regional Fire Authority Plan approved by voters established an initial governing Board of Commissioners made up of all five elected commissioners from Fire District 1 and two members appointed from the Lynnwood City Council. The plan calls for transitioning to a directly elected board beginning in 2019 with five commissioner districts, at least two of which must include the City of Lynnwood. Two at-large commissioners will be directly elected in 2021.

The first step is to establish Commissioner Election Districts before the 2019 elections. An independent consultant hired by South County Fire drafted a proposal for five districts with balanced population as shown on the map above.

Commissioner Districts are for election purposes only, and are not related to fire service operations. The boundaries apply only for the election of your fire commissioners. These districts do not change or impact 911 responses or the delivery of your fire and emergency medical services.

Information packets and maps
are available for review at all 14 fire stations in the South County Fire service area and Lynnwood City Hall. Binders are available at the Lynnwood Library and the Mariner Library.

DOWNLOAD HI-RES MAP of proposed Commissioner Districts.

This survey has been closed. Click here to go to the full list.