South County Fire is governed by a board of seven elected commissioners. Currently, the Board of Commissioners consists of two appointed Lynnwood City Council members and five Fire District 1 Commissioners.

After a transition period, voters of South County Fire will elect a board of seven members. Five commissioners will be elected by districts of roughly equal population. The remaining two commissioner positions will be elected “at-large,” by all voters within the regional fire authority.

Elections for the five districted positions will occur in 2019. Elections for the “at-large” positions will occur in 2021.

Commissioners are responsible for defining the agency's long-term vision and for adopting the budget and policies to be implemented by administrative staff. 

South County Fire Board of Commissioners

Commissioner Jim Kenny

Jim Kenny, Chair

Email Jim Kenny
12425 Meridian Ave. S.
Everett WA 98208
(425) 232-2236

Commissioner Kenny is chair of the board and previously served five years as chair of the Fire District 1 board. Commissioner Kenny is the past president of the Snohomish and Island County Fire Commissioners Association and has served on the board of the Washington Fire Commissioners Association. He was first appointed, and then elected, as a Fire District 1 commissioner in 2003.

Commissioner Kenny lives in the Silver Firs neighborhood with his wife and two children. He works as a prosecutor for the City of Seattle.

Benjamin Goodwin, Vice Chair

Commissioner Ben Goodwin

Email Benjamin Goodwin
12425 Meridian Ave. S.
Everett WA 98208
(425) 551-1200

Commissioner Goodwin is the Lynnwood City Council president. He was appointed by the council to serve on the South County Fire Board of Commissioners in 2017.

As a City Council member, Commissioner Goodwin has served on the Parks, Recreation, and Cultural Arts Commission; the Historical Commission; Snohomish County Tomorrow; the Regional Fire Authority; Citizens Patrol; the Affordable Housing Commission; and Snohomish County Health District.

Commissioner Drew BurnettDrew Burnett

Email Drew Burnett
12425 Meridian Ave. S.
Everett WA 98208
(425) 551-1200

Drew Burnett was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in 2019. He is the national director of technology services for OptumCare. He also served as the City of Lynnwood’s director of information technology for nearly two years and has held information technology executive positions for healthcare agencies in Arizona and Kentucky.

Burnett has 19 years of combined healthcare and municipal government technology and leadership experience.

Commissioner Burnett has a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Western Governors University in Salt Lake City and an Executive Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Washington.

David Chan 

Email David Chan
12425 Meridian Ave. S. 
Everett WA 98208
(425) 551-1200

David Chan was elected to the Fire District 1 Board of Commissioners in 2005. Commissioner Chan was reelected in 2011 and 2017. He is now serving this special two-year term ending Dec. 31, 2019. Commissioner Chan has focused on financial stability, technological efficiency, organizational structure, allocation of resources, and regionalization of fire and emergency medical services to reduce duplication of overhead costs borne by different cities.

Commissioner Chan served as Fire District 1 Board Chair from 2011-2014, working with other commissioners and staff to achieve long-term financial stability, while continuing to provide the same level of outstanding service to residents..

Commissioner Chan is a consultant specializing in business turn-around. He started his career as a certified public accountant with international accounting firms. Chan graduated from the University of Oregon and received an MBA from the California State University at Hayward. He has served as a board member of many non-profit organizations including the Everett Rotary Club, Snohomish County YMCA, and Snohomish County Camp Fire.

Christine FrizzellChristine Frizzell

Email Christine Frizzell
12425 Meridian Ave. S.
Everett WA 98208
(425) 551-1200

Christine Frizzell is a member of the Lynnwood City Council. She was appointed by the council to serve on the South County Fire Board of Commissioners in 2018. She has spent the majority of her life in the Lynnwood area.  She is a graduate of Meadowdale High School, a self-employed accountant and proud parent of two Meadowdale graduates.

Commissioner Frizzell enjoys staying active in the community. Christine began volunteering in Lynnwood with Neighbors in Need, then added Lynnwood Fire Department, Cold Weather Shelter, and Lynnwood Parks and Rec Walk Leader to the organizations she serves with.  She is on the boards for Neighbors in Need, the Jean Kim Foundation for Homeless Education, Shepherd’s Garden Senior Housing and Lynnwood Interfaith Church.


Commissioner Jim McGaugheyJim McGaughey

Email Jim McGaughey
12425 Meridian Ave. S.
Everett WA 98208
(425) 551-1200

Jim McGaughey is chair of the Fire District 1 Board of Commissioners. He served on the planning committee for the Regional Fire Authority. Commissioner McGaughey took office as a Fire District 1 commissioner on Dec. 3, 2013. He is a retired deputy fire chief with 27 years of fire service experience.

Commissioner Bob Meador

Bob Meador

Email Bob Meador
17313 7th Ave. W.
Mill Creek WA 98012
(425) 218-3216

Commissioner Meador was first elected to the Fire District 1 Board in 1987, and left in 1991 to take the position of Fire Chief for the City of Lynnwood. He was reelected to the Fire District 1 Board in 2008. During his tenure, he has served as Board Chair and Vice-Chair and participated in numerous committees. He served on the planning committee for the Regional Fire Authority.

Commissioner Meador retired after serving 30 years in the fire service. He is a graduate of the University of Washington, Everett Community College and Edmonds Community College.   He has been active in youth sports, heritage groups, genealogical study groups, homeowners association and a local credit union.

As a Commissioner,  Meador has promoted Fire District 1’s role in achieving regionalization of services. He has also worked hard to achieve long-term financial stability for the citizens we serve.